Texas Governor Abbott Declares Emergency To Ban ‘Sanctuary Cities’

Created with Sketch.

Texas Governor Abbott Declares Emergency To Ban ‘Sanctuary Cities’

There are 15 Sanctuary Cities in Texas, all of them violating federal law against harboring/aiding and abetting illegal aliens.

Here’s the more recent list from ojjpac.org:

  • Austin, TX                (Congressional Research Service)
  • Baytown, TX            (6-13-07 Local reader observation;  12-9-15 Note: The City of Baytown disputes it’s listing as a sanctuary. Status is currently under review.)
  • Brownsville, TX
  • Channelview, TX      (6-13-07 Local reader observation)
  • Denton, TX
  • Dallas, TX
  • Dallas Co., TX         (Added 8-2-16, Source: 10-8-14 DHS DDO Report)
  • El Cenizo, TX          (6-13-07 Congressional Research Service)
  • Ft.Worth, TX
  • Houston, TX            (Congressional Research Service)
  • Katy, TX                 (Congressional Research Service)
  • Laredo, TX             (Entry added in 2007. Source added 7-25-15   Breitbart.com article by Brandon Darby, 7-6-15, regarding Laredo PD critical of officers calling Border Patrol)
  • Mcallen, TX
  • Port Arthur, TX       (6-13-07 Reader/resident observation)
  • Travis Co., TX        (Added 10-13-15, Source: 10-8-14 DHS DDO Report; and Houston Chronicle article by Mike Ward, 1-23-17)


Governor Abbott can be “a force” in the battle against Sanctuary Cities. I only wish we had him here in CA.

By Mike Ward at Houston Chronicle